Christian Ulrichs

Professor und Leiter des Fachgebiets Urbane Ökophysiologie der Pflanzen
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Berlin

Christian Ulrichs (born 26th of January in Dortmund, Germany) is a German biologist. He became a Junior Professor at the Division of Urban Gardening at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in 2003. Since 2009, he is a Full Professor and leads the Division of Urban Plant Ecophysiology at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.
Christian Ulrichs studied Biology at Freien Universität Berlin. He was employed as a scientific assistant from 1995 till1998 at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, were he finalised his dissertation (Dr. rer. agr.). He conducted his second dissertation (Dr. rer. nat.) at TU München. From 1998 till 2001 he worked as a system-analyst in the area of Interegrated Plant Protection for the World Vegetable Center (AVRDC) in Taiwan. During this time, we lived in the Philippines. In fall 2001, he moved to the US and worked for the US-Department of Agriculture investigating climate models and pest forecast. Since 2003 he is at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.
His research projects focus on national and international food security and on the Ecophysiology of plants in the urban space.
Since 2004, Prof. Ulrichs he is committee member in the Deutschen Gartenbauwissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft (German Horticultural Association) and was president of the same from 2011 till 2013. Since 2011 he also is Council of the International Society for Horticultural Sciences (ISHS).

Schedule

Jan 21, 2019

Christian Ulrichs

Professor und Leiter des Fachgebiets Urbane Ökophysiologie der Pflanzen
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Berlin

Christian Ulrichs (* 26. Januar 1968 in Dortmund) ist ein deutscher Biologe. Er ist Professor an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, ab 2003 für das Fachgebiet Urbanen Gartenbau im Rahmen einer Juniorprofessur, seit 2009 für das Fachgebiet Urbane Ökophysiologie der Pflanzen als Lehrstuhlinhaber.

Er studierte Biologie an der Freien Universität Berlin, war von 1995 bis 1998 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Dort erfolgte seine Promotion zum Dr. rer. agr., eine zweite Promotion zum Dr. rer. nat. erfolgte an der TU München. Von 1998 bis 2001 arbeitete er als System-Analyst im Bereich des Integrierten Pflanzenschutzes für das World Vegetable Center (AVRDC) in Taiwan. In dieser Zeit war er längere Zeit auf den Philippinen tätig. Ab Oktober 2001 erfolgte ein Auslandsaufenthalt am US-Department of Agriculture wo er sich mit Klimamodellen und Schaderregervorhersagen beschäftigte. Seit 2003 ist er an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin tätig.

Seine Forschungsprojekte beschäftigen sich mit der Ernährungssicherung im nationalen und internationalen Bereich und der Ökophysiologie von Pflanzen im urbanen Raum.

Ulrichs ist seit 2004 im Vorstand der Deutschen Gartenbauwissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft und war von 2011 bis 2013 Präsident der Gesellschaft. Seit 2011 ist er zudem im Council der International Society for Horticultural Sciences (ISHS).

Agenda

21.01.2019