January 18, 2021
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

07. January 2020

I truly believe that no-till and regenerative systems are going to be the highest profit systems.

Interview with Joe Bassett, Dawn Equipment

We have to stop bugging farmers with discussions about protecting the environment, say Dawn Equipment’s CEO Joe Bassett. Instead we should be talking about smart ways that can make more money for the farmer. Sustainability will naturally come follow in our tracks. He therefore relies on no-till technology.

By Sarah Liebigt

Farm & Food: What does the future of farming look like?

Joe Bassett: I guess, the future of farming that I want, versus the future of farming that I think we’re going to get are two very different things. I think, the main reason for that is that there is a lack of alignment between the objectives of farmers, the objectives of consumers and the objectives of water and soil. We have a world today, where farmers are being sold evermore technology. Every new thing promises to be that little bit more and nobody ever gets anywhere, and I think that’s largely a waste of time. It’s an entire system which is setup mostly to benefit shareholder values. That’s fine, making money is great.

I do think, however, that it is possible to design an agricultural system that is profitable for everyone and dramatically more profitable for farmers – yet at the same time it has a positive effect on the environment.   

The future of farming for me would be a mixture of modern and antique technology. Where we farm in a way that is in greater synergy with the soil, that completely reduces chemical input and is profitable for farmers. There is a beautiful balance that can exist between the digital and the biological world.

I am bored to make high tech products just to make high tech products. I am inspired to make very smart but very simple products. The intention of the design is about how the product engages with the plants, the soil: Creating the innovation at that interface rather than creating it somewhere higher up the hierarchy.

What can companies like yours do to improve the creation of value on farms/for farmers?

There are two brands in our portfolio, Dawn Equipment and Underground Agriculture. Dawn Equipment is largely a vision of the future which is the status quo, which is increased automation, digitization and machine control. – I am working in an environment where we keep selling more products to the farmers, but the farmers are not making more money.

Our job as technologists and product designers in agriculture is it to serve our customers. You cannot design in a vacuum; we have to design to serve someone. So, the question is, when we are developing agtechnology, who are we serving? My overall thesis is, that we can be very intentional about choosing who we are serving.

Can you give us an example?

About five years ago we became interested in cover crops and what at that time was sustainable agriculture, now the buzzword is “regenerative”. But I am not necessarily coming at it from an environmental perspective. I think that you can find a win win where you have less impact on the environment and you make far more money for farmers. Our current strategy on how to do that in short term, in an achievable way, is with organic no-till soybeans. We’ve demonstrated that this is possible: You grow a dense cover crop stance, then you plant the soybeans directly into them and you are going to do no other weed control. This way you are growing organic soybeans, that you are getting twice the market value for. You only need to make two passes across the field, maybe three, but you have nothing in the cost of the product other than the cost to seed the cover crop. You are dramatically reducing inputs and you are increasing the value of your output commodity at the same time.

Why are you investing in and developing no-till-tech? What made you go into this direction?

From an American perspective there have been conservation farmers trying to compel farmers to change their practices for a hundred years. Largely they haven’t gone anywhere. The reason is simple: farming is a business. Farmers naturally are going to gravitate towards what makes more money. That’s why in my opinion we need to shut up talking about the environment and instead talk about ways that can make much more money.

I truly believe that no-till and regenerative systems are going to be the highest profit systems. That’s where I see things going long term.  

Do you already export your tech? If so: who is your biggest client?

We have done business in France, Ukraine, we are starting to look at Brazil – but to your question: I do feel like Germany would be a strong place for us. I think that the German political climate is going to be more receptive to some of these radically different conservation practises.

What you see in Europe right now would not be reproduceable in the United States in terms of some of the top down regulations impacting how farmers farm.

What are your expectations from participating in the next Farm and Food conference?

I would like to network with people that are interested in fostering innovation at the intersection of agriculture and the environment. I would also like to see if the would be an opportunity to meet an investor who would bring Underground Agriculture to Germany.

Related articles

Our Partners 2020

Partners

Premium

Superior

Partner

Media Partner

Patrons

Farm & Food 4.0
Innovation, Inspiration, Netzwerk
Farm & Food 4.0

07. Januar 2020

Ich glaube fest daran, dass Direktsaat- und regenerative Systeme den höchsten Gewinn bringen werden.

Interview mit Joe Bassett, Dawn Equipment

Mit Landwirten ständig über Umweltschutz zu diskutieren, hält der Geschäftsführer und Gründer von Dawn Equipment für nicht zielführend. Stattdessen sollten wir Wege finden, neue Methoden und neue Technik für Landwirte wirklich profitabel zu gestalten. Er setzt deswegen auf Direktsaat-Technologien.

Von Sarah Liebigt

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Farm & Food: Wie sieht die Zukunft der Landwirtschaft aus? Im best-case Szenario.

Joe Bassett: Ich schätze, die Zukunft der Landwirtschaft, die ich will, im Vergleich zur Zukunft der Landwirtschaft, die wir meiner Meinung nach bekommen werden, sind zwei sehr unterschiedliche Versionen. Der Hauptgrund dafür ist, dass es eine mangelnde Übereinstimmung zwischen den Zielen der Landwirte, den Zielen der Verbraucher und den Zielen von Wasser und Boden gibt. Wir haben heute eine Welt, in der den Landwirten immer mehr Technologie verkauft wird. Jeder neue Trend verspricht, ein bisschen mehr zu bieten. Das ist weitgehend Zeitverschwendung. Es handelt sich um ein ganzes System, das vor allem darauf ausgerichtet ist, den Shareholder Value zu steigern.
Das ist in Ordnung, Geld zu verdienen ist großartig. Ich denke jedoch, dass es möglich ist, ein Agrarsystem zu gestalten, das für alle profitabel und für die Landwirte wesentlich profitabler ist – und gleichzeitig positive Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt hat.

Die Zukunft der Landwirtschaft wäre für mich eine Mischung aus moderner und antiker Technologie. Wenn wir in einer Weise produzieren, die in größerer Synergie mit dem Boden steht, die den Chemikalieneinsatz vollständig reduziert und für die Landwirte rentabel ist. Zwischen der digitalen und der biologischen Welt kann ein Gleichgewicht bestehen. Es ist langweilig, High-Tech-Produkte herzustellen, nur um High-Tech-Produkte herzustellen. Ich bin inspiriert, sehr intelligente, aber sehr einfache Produkte herzustellen. Die Intention des Designs besteht darin, wie sich das Produkt mit den Pflanzen, dem Boden, verbindet: Die Innovation an dieser Schnittstelle zu schaffen, ist wichtig.

Was können Unternehmen wie Ihres tun, um die Wertschöpfung in den Betrieben/für die Landwirte zu verbessern?

Es gibt zwei Marken in unserem Portfolio, Dawn Equipment und Underground Agriculture. Dawn Equipment ist weitgehend eine Zukunftsvision, die der Status quo ist, d.h. verstärkte Automatisierung, Digitalisierung und Maschinensteuerung. – Ich arbeite in einem Umfeld, in dem wir immer mehr Produkte an die Bauern verkaufen, aber die Bauern verdienen nicht immer mehr Geld. Unsere Aufgabe als Technologen und Produktdesigner in der Landwirtschaft ist es, unsere Kunden zu bedienen. Man kann nicht im Vakuum entwerfen; wir müssen entwerfen, um jemandem zu dienen.

Können Sie uns ein Beispiel nennen?

Vor etwa fünf Jahren haben wir uns für Zwischenfrüchte interessiert und was damals nachhaltige Landwirtschaft war, läuft heute unter dem Schlagwort der regenerativen Landwirtschaft. Aber ich komme nicht unbedingt aus ökologischer Sicht darauf zu sprechen. Unsere derzeitige Strategie, wie wir das kurzfristig erreichen können, besteht in der Verwendung von Bio-Sojabohnen. Wir haben gezeigt, dass dies möglich ist: Du pflanzt eine dichte Pflanzendecke, um dann die Sojabohnen direkt dazwischen zu pflanzen und dann keine andere Unkrautbekämpfung durchzuführen. Auf diese Weise baust Du Bio-Sojabohnen an, für die Du den doppelten Marktwert bekommst. Nur zwei Durchgänge über das Feld sind nötig, vielleicht drei, aber Du hast keine anderen Kosten für das Produkt als die Kosten für die Aussaat der Deckelfrucht.

Warum investieren Sie in und entwickeln Direktsaat-Technologien?

Aus amerikanischer Sicht haben Naturschutzbauern versucht, die Landwirte zu zwingen, ihre Praktiken hundert Jahre lang zu ändern. Das war größtenteils nicht zielführend. Der Grund ist einfach: Landwirtschaft ist ein Geschäft. Landwirte werden sich natürlich für das interessieren, was mehr Geld verdient. Deshalb müssen wir meiner Meinung nach die Klappe halten, nicht über die Umwelt reden sondern stattdessen über Möglichkeiten, wie wir viel mehr Geld verdienen können. Ich glaube fest daran, dass Direktsaat- und regenerative Systeme die Systeme mit dem höchsten Gewinn sein werden.

Exportieren Sie Ihre Technologie bereits? Wenn ja: Wer ist Ihr größter Kunde?

Wir sind in Frankreich und der Ukraine vernetzt. Wir beginnen, uns mit Brasilien zu befassen –  aber auf Ihre Frage: Ich habe das Gefühl, dass Deutschland ein starker Ort für uns wäre. Ich denke, dass das deutsche politische Klima empfänglicher für einige dieser radikal unterschiedlichen Methoden sein wird.

Welche Erwartungen haben Sie an die Teilnahme an der kommenden Farm and Food?

Ich möchte mich mit Menschen vernetzen, die daran interessiert sind, Innovationen an der Schnittstelle von Landwirtschaft und Umwelt zu fördern. Ich würde auch gerne sehen, ob die Gelegenheit besteht, einen Investor zu treffen, der Underground Agriculture nach Deutschland bringt.

Verwandte Artikel

do any of these male enhancement pills work viatech male enhancement 500mg what are good male enhancement pills mxm ultra force male enhancement heat diet pills south africa cayenne pepper weight loss pills keto diet support group do you naturally lose weight as you get older ozempic for weight loss pill wegovy vs gastric bypass diet pills program near me swallow pill weight loss does otezla make you lose weight best fat burner appetite suppressant 2020 weight loss pills leptin does raising your core body temp help you lose weight thermo keto acv gummies review bang fat burning pill what is the best fat blocker pill no fat pills india review does wegovy work immediately how do green tea fat burner pills work fab cbd gummies for anxiety greenhouse pure cbd gummies any scientific evidence cbd medical benefits montkush cbd products cbd blunt benefits cbd for back pain and anxiety how long does a gummy thc stay in system buy cbd products in wellington cbd infused gummy candy cbd gummies vancouver wa which cbd gummies help with pain cbd for sleep irwin naturals best cbd gummies georgia cbd products trend cbd infused products market cbd pain salve near me eternal sleep cbd gummies cbd cooling pain relief