Farm & Food 4.0
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

12. February 2020

CO2 certificates for the agriculture

Interview with Georg Goeres, Head of Europe, Indigo Agriculture

CO2 certificates empower farmers to adopt sustainable methods like regenerative agriculture, says Indigo’s Head of Europe, Georg Goeres. In order to do so, we have to pay them for how they produce and not only what they produce: Pay them for how they grow the apple, not just the fruit itself.

By Sarah Liebigt

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Indigo Ag brings CO2 certificates to Europe

Farm & Food: One of the major topics of the Farm & Food congress is regenerative agriculture. What is your relationship to that topic as a company and why is it relevant?

Georg Goeres: We as Indigo see a lot of challenges in agriculture today. And we believe, there are also a lot of solutions that we can bring to the table. Since our start in 2014 we have been working on microbiome solutions as input for the farmer. We set up a large research base in this area.

More recently we launched the Terraton Initiative. With this initiative we want to encourage farmers to change their agricultural practises to more regenerative ones and also measure their activities. Regenerative farming practises improve the quality of the soil and play a huge role in drawing down carbon from the atmosphere. Which is exactly what the Initiative wants to achieve – sequestering 1 trillion tons of carbon dioxide.

Soil has an immense impact on the health of our food system. When there’s more carbon in the soil, it is richer and full of life. It better supports plants, requires less fertilizer and yields more crops. In short, carbon-dense soil enriches agriculture.

We are planning on certifying that process, so that farmers can get paid per ton of carbon they sequester and can add a certificate to their yield and with that add value to their product. That way farmers get paid for how they produce.

That sounds like a dream come true. How difficult is it for a farmer to change their practises towards regenerative methods?

Up to now, there has been little financial incentive or support for farmers to transition to regenerative agriculture. We believe this is one of the reasons why farmers didn’t adapt these methods on a larger scale. As soon as farmers get compensated for that change, they will do it.

Why do you support the Farm & Food conference, what are your expectations from this event?

The conference offers a good mixture because many different influential stakeholders of the agricultural industry are here. Quite a number of farmers are here, actually. And Farm & Food puts people with different opinions at the discussion table which makes the conversation richer. Indigo fits in quite nicely which is why we decided to be a sponsor of this event.

Related articles

Our Partners 2020

Farm & Food 4.0 2020

Home
Talks (list)
Talks (grid)
Speakers (list)
Speakers (grid)
Sponsors
Exhibitors

Partners

Premium

Superior

Partner

Media Partner

Patrons

extenze original formula male sexual enhancement tablets15ea ron jeremys sex pills stamina does saw palmetto help sex drive silicone male enhancement bands penis enlargment supplements what percent of men need erectile dysfunction help does rite aid sell male enhancement pills how to memorize erectile dysfunction medication best cbd gummies for penis best thc gummies for libido oprah launches weight loss gummy keto trim pills side effects keto pills lean start when was wegovy created super slim pomegranate diet pills for sale weight loss pill for menopause number one diet pill over the counter applied nutrition fat burning pills healthy diet for pcos weight loss how much weight do you lose with lipo 360 over counter weight loss pills like phentermine what is the strongest appetite suppressant prescription cbd lessens rem sleep malebiotix me with cbd gummies cbd gummies sample uk zen rub cbd pain how to make cbd gummies recipe cbd gummy best dosage for arthritis how much cannabis for gummies cbd dental anxiety what is the best cbd strain for pain cbd gummies instagram cannabis gummy bears make them less slimie thc gummies prescription thc gummies for energy and focus how many milligrams of cbd to take for sleep grateful gummies thc dosage cbd for cronic muscular pain does cbd help shingles pain cbd worsens pain

Farm & Food 4.0
Innovation, Inspiration, Netzwerk
Farm & Food 4.0

12. Februar 2020

CO2 Zertifikate für die Landwirtschaft

Interview mit Georg Goeres, Head of Europe, Indigo Agriculture

CO2 Zertifikate befähigen Landwirte, nachhaltige Methoden wie die regenerative Landwirtschaft umzusetzen, sagt Indigos Europachef Georg Goeres. Dazu müssen wir sie dafür bezahlen, wie sie produzieren, und nicht nur für das Produkt: Wir müssen sie dafür entlohnen, wie sie den Apfel anbauen, nicht nur für die Frucht selbst.

Von Sarah Liebigt

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Indigo Ag bringt CO2 Zertifikate nach Europa

Farm & Food: Eines der Hauptthemen des Kongresses Farm & Food ist die regenerative Landwirtschaft. In welcher Beziehung stehen Sie als Unternehmen zu diesem Thema und warum ist es relevant?

Georg Goeres: Wir als Indigo sehen heute viele Herausforderungen in der Landwirtschaft. Und wir glauben, dass wir viele davon mitbringen. Seit 2014 arbeiten wir an Mikrobiom-Lösungen als Input für den Landwirt.

Vor kurzem haben wir die Terraton-Initiative ins Leben gerufen. Mit dieser Initiative wollen wir die Landwirte dazu ermutigen, ihre landwirtschaftliche Praxis auf regenerative Methoden umzustellen und ihnen ermöglichen, ihre Aktivitäten zu messen. Regenerative landwirtschaftliche Praktiken verbessern die Qualität des Bodens und spielen eine große Rolle bei der Entnahme von Kohlenstoff aus der Atmosphäre. Genau das will die Initiative erreichen – die Sequestrierung von 1 Billionen Tonnen Kohlendioxid.

Der Boden hat einen immensen Einfluss auf die Gesundheit unseres Ernährungssystems. Wenn mehr Kohlenstoff im Boden vorhanden ist, ist er reichhaltiger und voller Leben. Er unterstützt die Pflanzen besser, benötigt weniger Dünger und bringt mehr Ertrag. Kurz gesagt, ein kohlenstoffreicher Boden bereichert die Landwirtschaft.

Wir planen, diesen Prozess zu zertifizieren, so dass die Landwirte pro Tonne Kohlenstoff, die sie sequestrieren, bezahlt werden und ein Zertifikat zu ihrem Ertrag und damit zum Wert ihres Produkts hinzufügen können. Auf diese Weise werden die Landwirte dafür bezahlt, wie sie produzieren.

Das klingt wie ein wahr gewordener Traum. Wie schwierig ist es für einen Landwirt, seine Praxis auf regenerative Methoden umzustellen?

Bisher gab es für die Landwirte wenig finanzielle Anreize oder Unterstützung für den Übergang zur regenerativen Landwirtschaft. Wir glauben, dass dies einer der Gründe ist, warum die Landwirte diese Methoden nicht in größerem Umfang angepasst haben. Sobald die Landwirte eine Entschädigung für diese Änderung erhalten, werden sie es tun.

Warum unterstützen Sie die Farm & Food-Konferenz, welche Erwartungen haben Sie an diese Veranstaltung?

Die Konferenz bietet eine gute Mischung, weil viele verschiedene einflussreiche Akteure der Landwirtschaft hier sind. Auch sind eine ganze Reihe von Landwirten hier. Farm & Food bringt Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Meinungen an den Tisch, was die Diskussion bereichert. Indigo fügt sich sehr gut ein, weshalb wir uns entschlossen haben, Sponsor dieser Veranstaltung zu sein.

Verwandte Artikel

power h male enhancement rate male enhancement pills rhino shot male enhancement does viagra help gout cbd gummies sex pills dx male enhancement formula long and strong male enhancement pills reviews common drugs for premature ejaculation does trazodone help with premature ejaculation male stamina enhancement reviews male sperm enhancing vitamins which doctor treat erectile dysfunction male erection pills in usa combination supplements with nettles for male sexual performance bio life keto acv gummies reviews contrave vs wegovy weight loss what are the ingredients in the keto diet pill is wegovy safe while breastfeeding benefits of taking apple cider vinegar gummies keto fast pills review best diet pills lose weight quickly weight loss or fat loss pills magnetic earrings to lose weight david harbour lose weight best diet pill to lose 5 pounds compound pharmacy wegovy cost sunset health keto gummies elite max keto pills which store carries them diet pill with tapeworm eggs workouts to do before bed to lose weight edibles gummies thc cbd gummies for seizures thc gummies delivered to nj thc gummies in md whats a good milligram of hemp gummy love hemp cbd gummy bears review how long before thc gummies are out of your system pure hemp gummy 300mg what are the strongest cbd gummies for pain health benefits of cbd blue