Farm & Food 4.0
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

08. February 2020

Follow-up funding: Germany must step up in AgTech

Interview with Katrin Jakob, California Business Associates

In Germany there is a lack of follow-up funding for startups, says Jakob. Local companies must also understand that the financing cycle is geared to the sale of a startup, not its growth and long-term development by the founders themselves.

Von Sarah Liebigt

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Farm & Food: At the Farm & Food conference, you took part in the workshop “Ecosystem AgTech” and you led the Roundtable on AgTech in Silicon Valley. Please give us your impressions of these sessions.

Katrin Jakob: It is always interesting to bring Silicon Valley ideas to Germany. Especially in the agtech area, where Silicon Valley just caught up in the last years compared to other industries. Today we have an extensive Ag and FoodTech startup ecosystem and the questions here today focused on repeatability: what can we learn from Silicon Valley, what can we do better in Germany and in Europe? There still are big obstacles for startups in Germany and Europe, especially in follow up funding. As far as I know, there is great support for young startups at universities, on federal as well as European level. But follow up funding is usually missing.

In order to build a strong ecosystem, you must take a step back and think about how the funding cycle works. Investors give money to a fund, which is used to support startups. The startup must evolve and is sold at some point or goes public to bring in the return for the investors. It is my impression that German companies are not aware of that step yet. Usually they want to build a great company, keep it and maybe even pass it on to their children.

The German agricultural industry must step up. They must provide the funding and they also need to be willing to acquire startups. Startup organisations in Germany must build alliances with the industry in order to be able to close the funding cycle. That is the only way to allow start-ups to evolve into companies that can scale in the end.

In the workshop we had a question referring to the AgTech-market in Germany and Europe being too fragmented. They said it is easier to scale in the US as it represents a unified large market. This is true right now. But VC is coming to Germany, it will simply take some time to adjust distinct mindsets. There certainly is a good outlook for German AgTech companies to be successful in Germany.

Speaking about the conference: How would you describe the event’s relevance?

First I am very happy that there is a conference like this one at all. Farm & Food looks at different aspects of agriculture; at innovation, at digitalisation, at regenerative agriculture. Sometimes these topics might not align with each other, but that really creates wonderful discussions. Which is something that I like about the conference.

There is also a wide range of people participating. Everybody who should be on the table is actually here: all the people you need to move AgTech forward.

Related articles

Our Partners 2020

Farm & Food 4.0 2020

Home
Talks (list)
Talks (grid)
Speakers (list)
Speakers (grid)
Sponsors
Exhibitors

Partners

Premium

Superior

Partner

Media Partner

Patrons

fiber supplements and erectile dysfunction cbd gummies for ed do they work easiest way to get ed pills the best male enhancement pill at gnc male enhancement endura naturals sex enhancing pills in usa antidepressant medication and erectile dysfunction ptsd medication no erectile dysfunction go on red pill male enhancement webside how long rhino male enhancer low cost viagra pills thicken up male enhancement reviews coffee supplement for weight loss lifetime keto gummies trisha yearwood lifecell myco mushroom supplement for weight loss weight loss supplement stack keto cinnamon gummy bears recipe dr shalini weight loss supplements what is the best fiber supplement for weight loss side effects of ketology keto gummies msm supplement and weight loss atp supplement for weight loss belly fat burning yoga steps weight loss supplements ok to take with wellbutrin does the plank burn belly fat how good is bicycling for burning belly fat is cbd pain relief gel legal in missouri lab tested cbd pain relief ozone cannabis infused gummies cbd gummies for body pain tsa thc gummies cbd gummy bears calories para que sirve cbd gummies viagra dr cbd sour gummy worms conner cbd gummies is cbd effective for pain relief ultra cbd gummies dr juan rivera do cbd gummies have thc in them boax cbd benefits green apple gummies thc

18. Januar 2021
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

08. Februar 2020

Start-Ups werden nicht vererbt

Interview mit Katrin Jakob, California Business Associates

In Deutschland fehle es an der Anschlussförderung für Start-Ups, so Jakob. Hiesige Unternehmen müssten zudem verstehen, dass der Finanzierungskreislauf einen Verkauf eines Start-Ups vorsehe, nicht dessen Wachstum und langfristige Entwicklung durch die Gründer selbst. 

Von Sarah Liebigt

Farm & Food: Sie waren eine der Referentinnen im Workshop “Ecosystem AgTech” und haben den Roundtable zu AgTech im Silicon Valley geleitet. Bitte teilen Sie uns Ihre Eindrücke von diesen Sessions mit.
Katrin Jakob: Es ist immer spannend, Ideen aus dem Silicon Valley nach Deutschland zu bringen. Vor allem im Bereich AgTech, wo das Silicon Valley im Vergleich zu anderen Industrien erst in den letzten Jahren aufgeholt hat. Wir haben heute ein umfangreiches Ag & Food Tech Start-Up-Ökosystem, und die Fragen, die heute hier gestellt werden, konzentrieren sich auf dessen Wiederholbarkeit: Was können wir vom Silicon Valley lernen, was können wir in Deutschland und in Europa besser machen? Es gibt immer noch große Hindernisse für Start-Ups in Deutschland und Europa, insbesondere bei der Anschlussfinanzierung. Soweit ich weiß, gibt es eine große Unterstützung für junge Unternehmensgründungen an den Universitäten, sowie auf Bundes- als auch auf europäischer Ebene. Aber es fehlt meist die Anschlussfinanzierung.

Um ein starkes Ökosystem aufzubauen, muss man einen Schritt zurücktreten und darüber nachdenken, wie der Förderkreislauf funktioniert. Investoren geben Geld an einen Fonds, der zur Unterstützung von Start-Ups verwendet wird. Das Start-Up muss sich entwickeln und wird irgendwann verkauft oder geht an die Börse. Ich habe den Eindruck, dass sich deutsche Unternehmen dieses Schrittes noch nicht bewusst sind. Meist wollen sie ein tolles Unternehmen aufbauen, es behalten und vielleicht sogar an ihre Kinder weitergeben.

Die deutsche Agrarwirtschaft muss sich weiterentwickeln, sie muss die Finanzierung bereitstellen und auch bereit sein, Start-Ups zu kaufen. Start-Up-Organisationen in Deutschland müssen Allianzen mit der Industrie aufbauen, um den Finanzierungskreislauf schließen zu können. Nur so können sich aus den Start-Ups am Ende skalierbare Unternehmen entwickeln.

Im Workshop hatten wir eine Frage, die sich auf einen zu fragmentierten Markt in Deutschland und Europa bezog. Es hieß, dass es in den USA leichter sei, zu skalieren. Das ist aktuell zwar richtig. Aber VC kommt nach Deutschland, es wird einfach einige Zeit dauern, bis sich die unterschiedlichen Denkweisen aufeinander eingestellt haben. Es gibt sicherlich gute Aussichten für deutsche AgTech-Unternehmen, auch tatsächlich in Deutschland erfolgreich zu sein.

Wie würden Sie die Relevanz der Farm & Food bewerten?
Zunächst einmal bin ich sehr froh, dass es eine Konferenz wie diese überhaupt gibt. Die Farm & Food betrachtet verschiedene Aspekte der Landwirtschaft. Sie schaut auf Innovation, auf Digitalisierung, auf regenerative Landwirtschaft. Manchmal passen diese Themen vielleicht nicht zusammen, aber das schafft wunderbare Diskussionen. Das ist etwas, das ich an der Konferenz mag. Es gibt auch eine große Bandbreite unter den Teilnehmern: Jeder, der auf dem Tisch sitzen sollte, ist tatsächlich hier: alle, die man braucht, um AgTech voranzubringen.

Verwandte Artikel

Unsere Partner 2020

Partner

Premium

Superior

Partner

Medienpartner

Förderer