Farm & Food 4.0
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

11. February 2020

Modern, sustainable agriculture can only be achieved together

Keynote: Julia Harnal, Farm & Food 2020

Achieving the Sustainable Development Goals is a task that we can only fulfil together, and one that is crucial for modern agriculture says Julia Harnal. The head of BASF SE’s global unit Sustainability and Governmental Relations is certain that we can meet this challenge if farmers, science and consumers make proper use of existing knowledge and new technology.

 We invited her to speak at the congress in Berlin on January 20, 2020. Review her keynote.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

The next ten years will be decisive for modern agriculture

We have ten years left to reach the Sustainability Development Goals (SDG) targets. Will we reach them?

We will have to make a significant step forward in the next ten years, which we haven’t been able to do in the last five years. One of the things I wanted to bring to this stage today is how to do this. How can we work together across those planetary boundaries, across those seemingly opposed opinions, to come to a common ground and achieve more wealth and healthy food for everybody?

It has to be our moral obligation to have everybody on board and achieve this creation of wealth and affordable and healthy food for everybody on this planet.

Aside from climate change we also see the limitations of arable land. Be it by new urbanisation or be it by the limited resources we have on land. When we look at society we see more informed consumers, who will ask for a more transparent value chain, and who will put pressure on the way food is produced. They will hopefully also realize the value of food and how it is produced.

 

Farmers are masters of innovation

Last but not least we are talking about the farming community, about farmers around the world: they will be under this pressure for the next ten years, to make a livelihood out of their farms. To leave their farms in a stage for the following generations while at the same time having limited resources and be more respectful to the environment so to inverse the negative effects we saw on the planetary boundaries.

But we know that farmers are the masters of finding the right balance. They have always been on the front run of new technology; they have always embraced innovation to make their farms better and also to make their farms more sustainable.

We are convinced that there are some solutions out there already, and through collaborating and partnering up we can find a stronger path forward.

We also have to use the knowledge we as a people already have. The Rothamsted Research Institute in the UK is one of the oldest agricultural research institutes in the world: last year they celebrated 175 years of trial data available. That’s also a balance. Taking the experience from the past and mix it with new ideas of young people, with innovative approaches to science in order to get answers for the challenges of the future.

We (at BASF) continue to work with students from Rothamsted Research on soil science. We know that soil is very important for the future of this planet; for the capacity of capturing CO2 from the atmosphere and thus contributing to mitigate climate change.

But we also realized that there is still a gap between aspiration and solid facts. That’s why we have a several years running program with Rothamsted and other universities, where we really work on the basics of soil science to find out what kind of soil, what kind of crop rotation, what kind of farming practises do we need to get the best out of this soil – to get it healthier; to make it more sustainable and a contributor to climate mitigation.

Also to work on models for the farmers that they can use. Here we are again at the question of how to make it worth for farmers to adapt new practises and methods.

Related articles

Our Partners 2020

Farm & Food 4.0 2020

Home
Talks (list)
Talks (grid)
Speakers (list)
Speakers (grid)
Sponsors
Exhibitors

Partners

Premium

Superior

Partner

Media Partner

Patrons

male enhancement pills online usa best natural viagra alternative what does the rhino pill do to you aloe vera and male enhancement the number one male enhancement pill natures boost CBD gummies for ed reviews cbd gummies for sex over the counter erectile dysfunction pills is hims legit swag male enhancement pill reviews biopure keto gummies what diet pill makes you poop can hot baths help you lose weight what fat burner pills really work lifesource keto gummies reviews wegovy online without insurance evolution xl diet pills how can ice help you lose weight cheap fastin diet pills what diet pills dont pop on ua chewing gum suppresses appetite diet pill on shark tank forskolin wegovy twice a week can crying help lose weight keto trim diet pills shark tank force factor apple cider vinegar gummies reviews diet pill that works like adderall who has wegovy in stock near me does your period make you lose weight origins keto pills shark tank thc gummies in spain tell me about cbd gummies valerian root vs cbd for anxiety cresco 150mg cbd cherry lime gummies certified cbd gummies high potency hemp gummies best place to buy cbd products near me what are hemp cbd products mystic delta 9 gummies thc gummies 100mg each

18. Januar 2021
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

11. Februar 2020

Eine moderne Landwirtschaft kann nur gemeinsam erreicht werden

Keynote: Julia Harnal, Farm & Food 2020

Die Sustainable Development Goals zu erreichen, ist eine eine Aufgabe, die wir nur gemeinsam erfüllen können, so Julia Harnal – Und sie ist essentiell für die moderne Landwirtschaft. Die Leiterin der globalen Einheit Nachhaltigkeit und Regierungsbeziehungen der BASF SE ist sicher, dass wir diese Herausforderung bewältigen, wenn Landwirte, Wissenschaft und auch Verbraucher vorhandenes Wissen und neue Technik richtig nutzen.

Wir haben sie eingeladen, auf dem fünften Kongress in Berlin am 20. January 2020 zu sprechen. Hier können Sie ihre Keynote nachsehen.

Die kommenden zehn Jahre sind entscheidend für die moderne Landwirtschaft

Wir haben noch zehn Jahre Zeit, um die Sustainability Development Goals (SDG) zu erreichen. Werden wir das schaffen?

Wir werden in den nächsten zehn Jahren einen bedeutenden Schritt nach vorn machen müssen, was uns in den letzten fünf Jahren nicht gelungen ist. Wie können wir über die planetarischen Grenzen (die auch Volkert Engelsman in seiner Keynote erwähnt, A.d.R.) hinweg zusammenarbeiten, über diese scheinbar gegensätzlichen Meinungen hinweg, um zu einer gemeinsamen Basis zu gelangen und mehr Wohlstand und gesunde Nahrung für alle zu erreichen?

Es muss unsere moralische Verpflichtung sein, jeden an Bord zu haben und diesen Wohlstand sowie erschwingliche und gesunde Lebensmittel für alle Menschen auf diesem Planeten zu erreichen.

Neben dem Klimawandel wird indes auch die beschränkte Verfügbarkeit von Ackerland ein Problem. Sei es durch neue Urbanisierung oder sei es durch die limitierte Verfügbarkeit nutzbaren Ackerlandes.

Wenn wir uns die Gesellschaft anschauen, sehen wir, mein Vorredner Volkert Engelsmann sagte es bereits, besser informierte Verbraucher, die eine transparentere Wertschöpfungskette fordern und die Druck auf die Art und Weise ausüben werden, wie Lebensmittel produziert werden. Sie werden dann hoffentlich auch Lebensmittel und deren Produktion besser wertschätzen.

Landwirte sind Meister der Innovation

Last but not least sprechen wir über die landwirtschaftliche Gemeinschaft, über Landwirte auf der ganzen Welt: Sie werden in den nächsten zehn Jahren unter dem Druck stehen, von ihren Betrieben gut leben zu können, sowie Ihre Betriebe für die nächsten Generationen vorzubereiten. Trotzdem sie gleichzeitig begrenzte Ressourcen haben und respektvoller mit der Umwelt umgehen müssen, um die negativen Auswirkungen, die wir an den planetary Boundaries gesehen haben, umzukehren.

Aber wir wissen, dass die Landwirte Meister sind, wenn es darum geht, das richtige Gleichgewicht zu finden. Sie waren schon immer an vorderster Front der neuen Technologien; sie haben sich immer für Innovationen eingesetzt, um ihre Betriebe besser und auch nachhaltiger zu machen.

Wir sind überzeugt, dass es bereits einige Lösungen gibt, und durch Zusammenarbeit und Partnerschaft können wir einen stärkeren Weg nach vorn finden.

Wir müssen auch das Wissen nutzen, über das wir bereits verfügen. Das Rothamsted Research Institute im Vereinigten Königreich ist eines der ältesten Agrarforschungsinstitute der Welt: Im vergangenen Jahr (2019, A.d.R.) feierte es 175 Jahre verfügbarer Versuchsdaten. Man nimmt die Erfahrungen aus der Vergangenheit und vermischt sie mit neuen Ideen junger Menschen, mit innovativen wissenschaftlichen Ansätzen, um Antworten auf die Herausforderungen der Zukunft zu erhalten.

Wir (bei BASF) arbeiten u.a. mit Studenten des Rothamsted Institutes im Bereich Bodenkunde zusammen. Wir wissen, dass der Boden für die Zukunft unseres Planeten sehr wichtig ist; für die Fähigkeit, CO2 aus der Atmosphäre zu ziehen und so zur Eindämmung des Klimawandels beizutragen.

Aber wir haben auch erkannt, dass es immer noch eine Kluft zwischen Anspruch und soliden Fakten gibt. Deshalb haben wir ein mehrere Jahre laufendes Programm mit Rothamsted und anderen Universitäten, in dem wir an den Grundlagen der Bodenkunde arbeiten, um herauszufinden, welche Art von Boden, welche Art von Fruchtfolge, welche Art von landwirtschaftlichen Praktiken wir brauchen, um das Beste aus diesem Boden herauszuholen – um ihn gesünder zu machen; um ihn nachhaltiger zu machen und einen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz zu leisten.

Weiterhin arbeiten wir an Modellen für die Bauern selbst, die sie nutzen können, um nachhaltig und wirtschaftlich zu arbeiten. Hier sind wir wieder bei der Frage, wie wir dafür sorgen können, dass es sich für die Bauern lohnt, neue Praktiken und Methoden anzupassen.

Verwandte Artikel

Unsere Partner 2020

Partner

Premium

Superior

Partner

Medienpartner

Förderer