Farm & Food 4.0
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

10. February 2020

Bringing about positive change in the agriculture and food sector through financing and cooperation

Keynote speech: Aidan Connolly, Farm & Food 2020

Aidan Conolly is CEO of Cainthus, Ireland. Farm & Food has invited him to speak at the fifth Farm & Food 4.0 in Berlin about his expertise on financing in agriculture. Here you can read his keynote speech of 20 January 2020. sal

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

What a farm looks like in the fifteen years

I also am very optimistic about technology and what it can do for the planet. I don’t know if it makes me the person who is supposed to represent capitalism in this room but I certainly I am being optimistic about what technology could to for agriculture, for food and for the planet.  

How do we produce more milk, more eggs, more meat, more weed, more barley, more beans with the same amount of land, two percent increase per year?

If you look at the productivity of agriculture, we have managed to achieve that. The yields in almost all agricultural commodities have risen around 1.8 percent per year over the past twenty years. If we continued that we would achieve the 70 percent more food.   

However, as we are extremely aware particularly in Germany and my own country, Ireland, consumers are looking for more and they want to see sustainability, animal welfare and they want to see that we do the right thing in terms of how we produce the food.

I often get asked to speculate about what a farm looks like in the next ten to fifteen years. I find that very challenging. I think we are looking at a tsunami of information and technologies coming at us and I think we have to look at the next 24 months.

The speed of innovation is increasing, we are aware of that in all businesses. Even in agriculture, where it has been a bit slower, we see innovation speeding up.

When people say to me, “Agriculture is not going to change; it hasn’t changed effectively for fifty.” I ask them if there have been taxis before Uber, movies before Netflix. We have seen so many businesses that have been ripped apart and catastrophically changed – wont that happen in agriculture as well?

You have already seen the painting of Steve Sonc (as described by Joe Bassett in his keynote, e.n.), Illinois. He just describes a farm that is increasingly connected in real time, collected information from plants, feeding them back into the harvesters, the fertilizers. The information influences how we feed animals.

The data gaps that exist in agriculture are huge. Look for example at the poultry industry: It thinks that it is phenomenally efficient; it puts thirty, forty thousand birds in a house, lets them run around for forty days and takes them back out. If you ask a farmer what they know about the process, they’ll tell you that they know the weight of the chickens when they go in, and the weight of the chickens, when go out.

They don’t know the weight in the middle of those forty days, nor the feed intake on group or individual levels, water intake or health. Then we get into animal stress and welfare, carbon dioxide, ammonia: All these data points are not known. And that’s the excitement I think in terms of what we could do next.

Financing agriculture and food sector

I think there is the “eight of technologies” that will transform agriculture: There are four which are software based (AI, VR, Augmented Reality, blockchain), four which are hardware based (robots, sensors, drones, 3d printing) and I put the internet of things at the centerpoint.

Described as the agricultural revolution, these five areas are extremely important: Smart farms, sensor revolution, microbials, genome editing, next generation of plant breeding.

Right now we are facing a world, where a lot of agricultural technology is coming in. From an agtech perspective, the newcomers and innovators who are part of the group which brings these technologies to market, the startups sometimes do not understand, what farmers need.

Related articles

Our Partners 2020

Farm & Food 4.0 2020

Home
Talks (list)
Talks (grid)
Speakers (list)
Speakers (grid)
Sponsors
Exhibitors

Partners

Premium

Superior

Partner

Media Partner

Patrons

dick enlargement pills alison pill sex scene top male sex enhancement pills erecto pills uses erection booster pills over the counter erectile dysfunction pills on demand male enhancement pill 1 cap male enhancement pills for sale in usa alpha cactus male enhancement rhino 25 pill review royal jelly male enhancement is arginine good for as a male enhancement pill can you lose weight by just lifting weights how to lose weight fast on a budget apple gummy bears weight loss try quick keto gummies bikini body fat burner pills keto science keto burn gummies near me biopure keto gummies ingredients how did celine dion lose weight weight loss pills that work quickly nuu3 apple cider vinegar gummies reviews what diet pill had sawdust in it tenuate weight loss pill are apple cider vinegar gummies healthy how do i get wegovy approved weight loss pills phen phen keto gummies for weight loss oprah cbd health benefits marijuana plant 10mg gummy thc benefits of using cbd buy full spectrum cbd fruit gummies green roads gummie block cbd produits huiles gummies cbd is cbd balm used for pain cbd gummies show on drug test premium cbd sleep gummies cbd salves for pain stores looking for cbd products space debris delta 9 gummies

Farm & Food 4.0
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

10. Februar 2020

Positiver Wandel durch Finanzierung und Zusammenarbeit in der Landwirtschaft und Ernährungswirtschaft

Keynote: Aidan Connolly, Farm & Food 2020

Aidan Conolly ist CEO bei Cainthus, Irland. Farm & Food hat ihn eingeladen, auf der fünften Farm & Food 4.0 in Berlin über seine Expertise zum Thema Finanzierung in der Landwirtschaft zu sprechen. Hier können Sie seine Keynote vom 20. Januar 2020 nachsehen.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Ich gehöre zu den Menschen, die sehr optimistisch in Bezug auf Technologie sind und was sie für den Planeten tun kann. Wie können wir mehr Milch, mehr Eier, mehr Fleisch, mehr Unkraut, mehr Gerste, mehr Bohnen mit der gleichen Fläche an Land produzieren, und unsere Erträge um zwei Prozent pro Jahr steigern?

Wenn man sich die Produktivität der Landwirtschaft anschaut, dann haben wir das bereits erreicht. Die Erträge in fast allen Bereichen sind in den letzten zwanzig Jahren um rund 1,8 Prozent pro Jahr gestiegen. Wenn wir das fortsetzen, würden wir die 70 Prozent mehr Nahrungsmittel erreichen.  

Aber wie wir vor allem in Deutschland und meinem eigenen Land, Irland, sehr wohl wissen, wollen die Verbraucher mehr. Sie wollen Nachhaltigkeit, sie wollen Tierschutz und sie wollen sehen, dass wir das Richtige tun, was die Art und Weise betrifft, wie wir die Lebensmittel produzieren.

Ich werde oft gebeten, darüber zu spekulieren, wie ein Betrieb in den nächsten zehn bis fünfzehn Jahren aussehen wird. Das finde ich sehr schwierig. Ich glaube, wir stehen vor einem Tsunami von Informationen und Technologien, der auf uns zukommt, und ich denke, wir müssen stattdessen die nächsten 24 Monate im Auge behalten.

Die Innovationsgeschwindigkeit nimmt zu, das ist uns in allen Unternehmen bewusst. Sogar in der Landwirtschaft, wo sie bisher etwas langsamer war, sehen wir eine Beschleunigung der Innovation.

Wenn man mir sagt: “Die Landwirtschaft wird sich nicht ändern; sie hat sich seit fünfzig Jahren nicht mehr effektiv verändert. Ich frage dann, ob es schon vor Uber Taxis und vor Netflix Filme gegeben hat. Wir haben so viele Unternehmen gesehen, die auseinandergerissen und katastrophal verändert wurden – wird das nicht auch in der Landwirtschaft passieren?

Die “Acht der Technologien”

Sie haben bereits das Gemälde von Steve Sonc (wie von Joe Bassett in seiner Keynote beschrieben, A.d.R., beschrieben), Illinois, gesehen. Er beschreibt einen Betrieb, der zunehmend in Echtzeit Informationen von Pflanzen sammelt und sie wieder in die Erntemaschinen, die Dünger, einspeist. Diese Informationen beeinflussen zum Beispiel die Art und Weise, wie wir Tiere füttern.

Die Datenlücken, die in der Landwirtschaft bestehen, sind allerdings enorm. Schauen Sie sich zum Beispiel die Geflügelindustrie an: Sie hält sich für enorm effizient; sie setzt dreißig-, vierzigtausend Vögel in einen Stall, lässt sie vierzig Tage lang herumlaufen und nimmt sie wieder heraus. Wenn Sie einen Landwirt fragen, was er über diesen Prozess weiß, wird er Ihnen sagen, dass er das Gewicht der Hühner kennt, wenn sie reingehen, und das Gewicht der Hühner, wenn sie rausgehen.

Sie kennen weder das Gewicht im Verlauf dieser vierzig Tage noch die Futteraufnahme auf Gruppen- oder individueller Ebene, die Wasseraufnahme oder den Gesundheitszustand der Tiere. Dann kommen wir zu Stress und Wohlbefinden der Tiere, Kohlendioxid: All diese Datenpunkte sind nicht bekannt.

Ich denke, es gibt die “Acht der Technologien”, die die Landwirtschaft verändern werden: Es gibt vier Technologien, die softwarebasiert sind (KI, VR, Augmented Reality, Blockchain), vier Technologien, die hardwarebasiert sind (Roboter, Sensoren, Drohnen, 3D-Drucken), und ich stelle das Internet der Dinge in den Mittelpunkt.

Die Acht spielt in die fünf Bereiche hinein, die als landwirtschaftliche Revolution bezeichnet werden: Intelligente Bauernhöfe, Sensorrevolution, Mikroben, Genombearbeitung sowie die Pflanzenzüchtung der nächsten Generation.

Im Moment stehen wir vor einer Welt, in der eine Menge landwirtschaftlicher Technologie Einzug hält. Doch der Neueinsteiger und Innovatoren, die diese Technologien auf den Markt bringen, die Start-ups, verstehen mitunter manchmal nicht, was die Landwirte tatsächlich brauchen. Hier braucht es nicht nur eine Finanzierung der Landwirtschaft, sondern auch Wissen.

Verwandte Artikel