Farm & Food 4.0
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

29. January 2020

True Cost Accounting for transparency and sustainability

Interview mit EOSTA’S CEO Volkert Engelsman

By Sarah Liebigt

True Cost Accounting calculates the hidden effects of food production on people and the planet. A conventionally produced product is much cheaper than an ecologically produced one, but its environmental impact is much greater. Not only must the price of products be higher, but the farmer must be rewarded by the Society for Nature Conservation. We spoke with Volkert Engelsman, the CEO of Eosta. The European trader of fresh organic fruit and vegetables, is committed to true cost accounting.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Farm & Food: In what state do you see agriculture and food production in?

Volkert Engelsman: We are in the middle of a transition from cheap food to sustainable food. “Cheap” always sounds interesting, but if food is cheap at the expense of health and soil or water purity or biodiversity, then it is no longer cheap.

On the other hand, organic is not “too expensive”. Instead, conventional is too cheap, as long as we pass on costs to the environment or our health to future generations.

How can true cost accounting change this?

I think the first thing we have to do is overcome anonymity. No sustainability without transparency: If we know where the product comes from, where and how it was produced, what its impact is on soil, biodiversity or my health, then we moved one step forward.

Anyone who says that consumers are not interested in transparency is wrong. As citizens, they are very interested. The supermarkets and brand owners want us to believe that this does not affect us. I think that is nonsense.

What do you appreciate about Farm & Food, the conference?

I find the people very interesting, the congress audience is very diverse. This event has a high level of quality and knowledge.

Related articles

Our Partners 2020

Farm & Food 4.0 2020

Home
Talks (list)
Talks (grid)
Speakers (list)
Speakers (grid)
Sponsors
Exhibitors

Partners

Premium

Superior

Partner

Media Partner

Patrons

stem cells for male enhancement things to eat to cure premature ejaculation red diamond male enhancement vitamins to help increase sex drive mens heatlth ed pills for men sex power pills for men how to make viagra naturally elite male enhancement review pill free fix for erectile dysfunction homemade male enhancement pills maximum k10 male enhancement pill hypnotism to cure premature ejaculation silicone male enhancement bands where to buy sex pills in osaka supreme boostr male enhance how to treat erectile dysfunction if testerone is normal top 5 male enhancement drugs supplement alternatives to viagra stay erect pills reviews big man male enhancement from germany love bites male enhancement gummies pouch reviews do erection pills make you bigger natural remedy to cure erectile dysfunction how to increase girth of penile benefits cbd drops dr gupta blue vibe cbd gummies natural state cbd products can truck drivers take cbd gummies best thc cbd ratio for pain thc gummies from colorado cbd sleep drop cbd clinic revolutionary pain relief level 1 sunmed cbd gummies sour worms does cbd help with neropathic pain five cbd sleep gummies review vigorlite cbd gummies reviews smilz broad spectrum cbd gummies gold harvest cbd infused gummy worms 500x review thc rso gummies cbd bemidji products

18. Januar 2021
International Congress Berlin
Farm & Food 4.0

29. Januar 2020

True Cost Accounting für Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit

Interview mit Eostas CEO Volkert Engelsman

Von Sarah Liebigt

True Cost Accounting berechnet die versteckten Auswirkungen der Lebensmittelproduktion auf Menschen und Planeten. Ein konventionell produziertes Produkt ist wesentlich günstiger als ein ökologisch produziertes, wobei dessen Umwelteinfluss viel geringer ist. Der Preis für Produkte muss nicht nur höher werden, sondern der Landwirt muss von der Gesellschaft für Naturschutz belohnt werden. Wir sprachen mit Volkert Engelsman, dem CEO von Eosta. Der europäische Händler von frischem Bio-Obst und Gemüse, hat sich dem True Cost Accounting verschrieben.

Farm & Food: In welchem Zustand sehen Sie die Landwirtschaft und die Lebensmittelproduktion?

Volkert Engelsman: Wir sind mitten in einer Umstellung von billiger Nahrung auf nachhaltige Nahrung. Billig hört sich immer interessant an, aber wenn es auf Kosten der Gesundheit und der Böden oder Wassersauberkeit oder Biodiversität geht, dann ist es nicht mehr billig.

Bio ist nicht „zu teuer“. Stattdessen ist konventionell zu billig, solange wir Kosten für die Umwelt oder unsere Gesundheit abwälzen auf künftige Generationen.

Wie hilft True Cost Accounting dabei, das zu ändern?

Ich denke, zuallererst müssen wir die Anonymität überwinden. Keine Nachhaltigkeit ohne Transparenz: Wenn wir wissen, wo das Produkt herkommt, wo und wie es erzeugt wurde, was dessen Einfluss auf Bodenfruchtbarkeit, Biodiversität oder meine Gesundheit ist, dann sind wir einen Schritt weiter.

Wer dann sagt, dass interessiert die Verbraucher doch gar nicht, hat Unrecht. Als Bürger interessieren sie sich sehr dafür. Die Supermärkte und Markeninhaber wollen uns glauben lassen, dass uns das nicht tangiert. Das halte ich für Unsinn.

Was schätzen Sie an der Farm & Food?

Ich finde die Leute hochinteressant, das Publikum ist sehr divers. Der Kongress hat ein hohes Qualiätsniveau.

Verwandte Artikel

Unsere Partner 2020

Partner

Premium

Superior

Partner

Medienpartner

Förderer